Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday!

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme that was started by "breaking the Spine" blog! It is where we post a book that has not been released yet...but we want to read badly!!

I am waiting on : "Everything You Want" by Barbara Shoup!! It looks really neat!

"Eighteen-year old Emma’s trying to survive total humiliation and heartbreak after getting ditched and punched in the face by her

(ex) best friend and crush-of-a-lifetime. Now she’s struggling with

major post-high school stress, a lame social life, and tighter jeans

from a few extra anxiety pounds. Then one lucky lotto ticket

comes along, and everything changes for the better--or does it?

Now that she and her (mostly) functional family are fabulously rich,

life is a bigger mess than ever."

This one actually came out THIS month!!! However, I haven't heard much talk on it, so I decided to feature it anyways!

Sound good?

Pick up your copy here for only 27 cents!!!:

Tuesday, April 28, 2009


Book Reviews

I have decided to compile a list of all of the books that I have reviewed on my blog! I will update it weekly!

Book Reviews 2009:

.Radiant Darkness

.The Off Season

.Dairy Queen

.Sisters in Sanity

.A Certain Strain of Peculiar

.The Lake that Steals Children (Short Story)

.Sliding on Edge

.Seven Tears Into The Sea

.Lifting The Sky

.Faery Rebels

.Springtime Breakups

.Avalon High: The Coronation, The Merlin Prophecy

.Being Nikki

.The Debs

.Taken By Storm

.Shadowed Summer

.Cracked Up To Be

.Just One Wish

.The Reluctant Heiress

.Model: A Memoir


.To Catch A Pirate

.Zombie Queen of Newbury High

.Pine Hollow: Changing Leads

.The Season

.Who Made You A Princess?

.Confessions of a Not IT Girl

.Princess In Pink

.Parties and Potions (My First book to get to review ever!!)

.Bog Child (My First FREE books ever...other than like family and libraries)


Book Reviews 2008:

.Boot Camp

Enjoy The List!!

Review: Radiant Darkness

Book: Radiant Darkness
Author: Emily Whitman
Pages: 270
Rating: 5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 5 out of 5

Persephone is sick of her Mother, a goddess, acting like she is a child. She wants to be able to talk to men, go to festivals, and be able to act like a women without her Mom getting mad at her. She lives in one of the most beautiful places, surrounded by flowers and beauty, as her mother is the goddess of nature. One day though, while Persephone is out exploring, she finds a man in little area she hadn't ever noticed before. If her mother knew about him, she would be furious! So Persephone keeps him a secret and keeps coming back to visit. Soon though, she has to make a hard decision when the man asks him to join him in the underworld to live and be his bride. Will she except? If she does, what will her Mother think? Will she be able to live in the underworld without missing earth to much? And will her decision affect the millions of other mortals on earth?

"Radian Darkness" was amazing. It was beautifully written and it made me want to keep reading it. I haven't read much Greek Mythology, but I really enjoyed this book. Despite the history in it, I was still able to understand what was going on throughout the story. Persephone's character was well developed. Sometimes though it might have seemed like Persephone was a little to gullible, but not enough to greatly affect the story in a bad way. Emily Whitman did a wonderful job on "Radiant Darkness" and I am looking forward to reading more of her works!

This book has been added to my A-Store! Purchases help with blog contests! Thank you!

Sunday, April 26, 2009

Review: "The Off Season"

Book: "The Off Season"
Author: Catherine Gilbert Murdock
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4 out of 5

D.J's life is starting to be a little bit brighter. Her and Brian are dating, her best friend is speaking to her again, and overall, life is working out. For a few days anyways. Suddenly, everything goes downhill. D.J. hurts her shoulder and has to decide between playing high school football, or basketball, which would give her a chance for a scholarship, Her family starts worrying about money, best friend Amber and her girlfriend Dale decide to move away, and her little brother is going off with his girlfriend. However, it gets even worse when her brother, Will, is injured badly in a football accident and ends up in the hospital. Will D.J.'s life start looking up again? Will Will's injury get better? Or will her life keep getting a little bit darker day by day?

"The Off Season" is the exciting sequel to Catherine Gilberts "Dairy Queen." I love how realistic D.J. is and how her character is so easy to relate to. Like "Dairy Queen", the book keeps you on your toes with exciting twists and turns that are unexpected. The way the story is written makes the reader feel like she really knows D.J. Overall, "The Off Season" was a great, light, novel that, like "Dairy Queen", would make a great summer read!

Saturday, April 25, 2009

Custom Headers!


I was wondering, do you like the new layout of Garden Of Books?

I made the header today and would like to offer up my services! I shall name it "Garden of Headers!" If you want me to make you a custom header, please pop me an email at:! I'll be happy to make you one!

Check out the blog for Garden Of Headers Here:


Friday, April 24, 2009

Gallagher Girls Chapter 3 Discussion!

Have you done your reading for the Gallagher Girls discussion?

Today the club is on THIS blog where we will be discussing chapter 3!

Here are a list of discussions that you can talk about in the comment section!

-What did you predict would happen after the buzzer went of at the beginning of the chapter?
-In chapter three, it mentions the three things you need to be if you show up on the steps of the academy without an invite, Persistence, Power, and completely out of other options. Do you think that those characteristics define you?
-Before Macey McHenry came out of the car, what did you think she would look like? Prissy and proper like her mother, studious and professional like her father, or rebellious and naughty?
-What do you think will happen with Macey? Will she end up going to Gallagher academy?
-Do you think the new teacher just might like the headmistress?

****Beware of Chapter 3 Spoilers in comment section******

I'm looking forward to chatting!!

Other participating blogs:
Cecilia's blog:
Kates blog:
Katie's blog:

Thursday, April 23, 2009

Under the Radar

I saw a new meme at Michelle Zink's blog, today, and thought it would be fun to start it here as well!

What it is:
Every week one book will be featured that hasn't gotten a lot of publicity, and that are not as well known because maybe the publisher isn't as well known or they aren't as well advertised!

I found this book today and thought it would suit this post well!

Book: Looking for JJ
Author: Anne Cassiday
Release date: 4/06/09
Three children walked away from the cottages on the edge of town toward Berwick Waters. Later that day, only two of them came back. . . . Alice Tully knows exactly what happened that spring day six years ago, though it's still hard for her to believe it. She'll never be able to forget, even though she's trying to lead a normal life--she has a job, friends, and a boyfriend whom she adores. But Alice's past is dangerous, and violent, and sad . . . and it's about to rip her new life apart. Includes a reader's guide.

Sound great?

If so, pick up your copy here:

Proceeds help out on blog contests!

Review: Dairy Queen

Book: "Dairy Queen"
Author: Catherine Gilbert Murdock
Pages: 274
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4 out of 5

D.J has decided that she is like a cow. She does everything her parents tell her, milk the cows, bring in the hay, do the rest of the chores, actually, she does everything that pretty much anyone tells her to do! However, when popular jock Brian who is on Hawley's foot ball team is sent over to D.J.'s family farm to learn how to really "work", things start changing. D.J starts training Brian and soon enough, they become close friends. And, things get even better when D.J comes up with the perfect plan to show herself that she really is not like a cow! However, will her plans turn out like she had hoped? Or will dig herself into a deeper hole?

"Dairy Queen" was such a great book! I loved it! It was quirky, funny, cute, and sweet! It had a lot about football in it, and I don't know much about football, but yet I still liked it! D.J and Brian's characters were well developed throughout the story, and it had a great plot! I did find that her parents, especially her Dad, were really frustrating at times. "Dairy Queen" makes a great, light, summer read. I really enjoyed reading "Dairy Queen" and am reading "Off Season", the sequel, right now! I hope that you like it as much as I did!

Review: Sisters in Sanity

Book: Sisters in Sanity
Author: Gayle Forman
Release Date: End of April in paperback
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4 out of 5
I think the cover suits the book well, its simple, but beautiful. I like the paperback cover much better than the former hardback cover!

Sixteen year old Brit Hemphill has an o.k life. Yes, her stepmother may be related in some way to the wicked stepmother in Cinderella, and her Mother ran away years ago after she became mentally crazy, but at least her dad loves her, right? Or so she thought. He tells her that he is taking her to the Grand Canyon, but really ends up taking her to Red Rock, a center for out of control girls. Sure, she may have some tatoo's and play in a band, but other than that, she's not bad. Soon she learns that Red Rock tells parents one thing, but it is really something totally different. They try to "teach" the girls by yelling at them for "therapy", amongst other cruel things. They are treated worse than jail victims, but yet have never done anything that bad. However, Brit, V, Martha, and Cassie soon become friends and decide to find a way out of Red Rock, as well as getting out all of the other kids that are treated unfairly there out to. The question is, will she be able to do it, or is the security of Red Rock to strong?

"Sisters in Sanity" was a wonderful read. The characters were well developed, and made you want to jump into the story to help them out. Gayle's writing style is readable and enjoyable. I loved reading "Sisters in Sanity" because it described the way people are treated in different camps across the world like these; unfairly. They might not be quite as bad as Red Rock, but they are there. Overall, "Sisters in Sanity" was a great book, and I'd suggest it to anyone who likes a deeper and more touching read, or to someone who liked reading "Boot Camp" by Todd Strasser.

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Start Following!!

Just a heads up:

If you aren't might be a good idea to start following! There's going to be an exciting thing soon only for followers!!

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

New Meme: Adoration Tuesday

Adoration Tuesday

While I was reading the other night, I came up with a new meme! Every Tuesday I will post a cover, new or old, that I "adore" and why! Feel free to join in and use this meme on your blog!!

And this weeks featured cover:

Book: Song of the Sparrow
Author: Lisa Ann Sandell
Cover Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Why I like it:
I love this cover! It looks so fresh, simple, and sweet. The ivy in the girls hair really adds character to the story and makes the cover even prettier!

Amazon expert:

"Since the days of King Arthur, there have been poems and paintings created in her name. She is Elaine of Ascolat, the Lady of Shalott, and now there is a book all her own. The year is 490 A.D. and 16-year-old Elaine has a temperament to match her fiery red hair. Living on a military base with her father, brothers, and the rest of Arthur's army, Elaine pines for the handsome Lancelot, and longs for a female friend. But when the cruel, beautiful Gwynivere arrives, Elaine is confronted with startling emotions of jealousy and rivalry. Can Elaine find the strength to survive the birth of a kingdom?"

Monday, April 20, 2009

Win BIG!

Teens age 13-18: Enter the Rayne Tour Series' "Live Like a Rock Star" Sweepstakes today! Grand Prize: $850 night on the town, including dinner for 6 and limo service. First 200 entrants get a free copy of Always Watching.
Go here to enter.

ALWAYS WATCHING – Rayne Tour Series book #1

This daughter of a rock star has it all—until murder crashes her world.

During a concert, sixteen-year-old Shaley O'Connor stumbles upon the body of a friend backstage. Is Tom Hutchens' death connected to her?

Frightening messages arrive. Paparazzi stalk Shaley. Her private nightmare is displayed for all to see. Where is God at times like this?

As the clock runs out, Shaley must find Tom's killer—before he strikes again...

Seatbelt Suspense® for young adults.

Watch the trailer
Read prologue and first chapter
Join The Rayne Tour Series fan club.

Gallagher Girls Book Club!

Cecilia (From Epic Rat), Kate (From Read This Book), Myself, and Katie (from Katies Book Shelf) have not read the famous Gallagher Girls series yet! So, we are hosting a book club for them! Cecilia from Epic Rat will be hosting the club for CHAPTER 1 of "I'd Tell you I Love you, but then I'd have to kill you" on Tuesday, on Wednesday Kate will be hosting the club for CHAPTER 2, I will be hosting the club for CHAPTER 3 on Thursday, and Katie will be hosting CHAPTER 4 on Friday! Sound good?

On each of our club "days" whichever blog the discussion is at for the day will be posting around 5-10 discussions on the chapter of the day! So feel free to join in and say what you think through the comments!

Cecilia's blog:
Kates blog:
Katie's blog:

See you soon!

Sunday, April 19, 2009

In My Mailbox!!

I got a pretty good haul of books this week! I'm a little surprised actually!

"A Certain Strain of Peculiar" by Gigi Amateau
You can find review for this one below!

"The Deep" by Helen Dunmore

"The Comeback" by Marlene Perez
Does anyone know where I can get this dress? LOL!

"The Real Real" by Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus
I love this dress to!!
"The Awakening" by Kelley Armstrong
This is my second copy, I think the publisher sent me two by accident!! I know Vania wants to read it....
"Sisters in Sanity" by Gayle Forman (also author of "If I Stay")
I love the cover!

"The Off Season" by Catherine Gilbert Murdock"Radiant Darkness" by Emily Whitman
Eeek! I'm so excited to read this one!

Review: "A Certain Strain Of Peculiar"

Book: "A Certain Strain of Peculiar"
Author: Gigi Amateau
Pages: 262
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4.5 out of 5

13 year old Mary Harold has to leave. She has to get out of her current town, away from all of the bullies and the "black ribbon club" and get to the town of Wren, where her grandmother lives. Whether her mom wants her to or not. And so far, it looks like she dosen't. Throughout "A Certain Strain of Peculiar" Mary works on the farm, wrestling cattle, taking care of her own cow, Sue and her baby deer, and fighting of the bullies that are so mean to her new best friend, Dixie, who acts exactly like a horse. Delta, Dixie's brother, is terribly annoying to her and after he ends up a victim of one of her fights, Mary learns to instead of bullying him, to try to teach him. The question is, will Mary learn who her new self really is? Will she make nice with Dixie again? And will Bud win the election? And what about the budding romance between Bud and her own Mom, or is it something even more? Find out by reading "A Certain Strain of Peculiar!"

Overall, "A Certain Strain of Peculiar" turned out to be a pretty good book! I liked how it had a lot of different, unexpected twists, such as Mary teaching Delta to knit, which kept it interesting. I thought that the plot was nicely developed and interesting. One of the things that I didn't like about the story though was that at times things seemed to repeat themselves. I liked how Mary had quirks about her, like her one too long toe, but yet she lived with them. I think that Gigi Amateau did a pretty good job on this story other than a few small flaws throughout the book! I'm looking forward to read more of her upcoming young adult books!

New blog!

Do you like to read adult books, do you have a Mom that likes to read? If so, then here is a link to a blog that my Mom has started! So while you read mine, your Mom can read my Mom's! Sound good?

If so, here is a link!

Its not very big yet, but that's were you come in!!

Thanks and,

Saturday, April 18, 2009

24 Hour Book Reading Challenge!!

You might have heard about the 24 hour book reading challenge...I decided to participate in it!

Here is the list of books I want to finish:

-A Certain Strain of Peculiar by Gigi Amateau
-Just Another Girl by Melody Carlson
-When the Black Girl Sings by Bil Wright

"The Comeback" by Marlene Perez

So, I will update you throughout my progress!!

Friday, April 17, 2009

Review: The Lake That Stole Children

Book: "The Lake that Stole Children"
Author: Douglas Glenn Clark
Pages: 40
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Spoiler Alert: Slight spoiler in review
I think that it should have had a picture of a lake on it instead of a tree!

When Tyler's dad takes him out fishing with his sister, he gets sad that his dad won't let him the line out where the big fish bite. He wants to be like his dad, and catch a good one! So, that night, he decides to sneak out of the house with his dad's big fishing pole, and his tackle, and go fishing for that one big fish. Soon, after getting very frustrated, Tlyer decides to try one last time before going home. This time was his success, he had a bite! However, it was to strong for him and pulled him into the deep lake, and into the belly of the glass fish were many other sad children cried. Tyler's dad soon learns of what happened to Tyler and its his mission to set him, and all of the other children that are trapped, free. The question is, will he be able to do what everyone before him couldn't?

"The Lake that Stole Children" was short story with a good message in it, especially to Dads. It was well written, nicely paced, and the characters were pretty well rounded for the short amount the story was. I enjoyed "The Lake that Stole Children" as a nice short read, with a good message, and nice plot.

Thursday, April 16, 2009

Review: Sliding on the Edge

Book: "Sliding on Edge"
Author: C. Lee Mckenzie
Pages: 266
Rating: 3.9 out of 5
Cover Rating: 3 out of 5
Release date: April 23, 2009

Shawna Stone lives in a messed up life. She lives alone with her Mother in wherever her Mom decides to be, there recent location: Las Vegas. Her Mom is always off dating strangers and leaving Shawna to stay home alone and wait. However, one day when Shawna wakes up and her mom isn't there and she finds a note containing $100, a ticket to California, Shawna's grandmother (whom she had never known) phone number, and a Casino Royal'es logo. At first, Shawna decides to rebel and try to get a job in Las Vegas, but soon she decides that it would be a better choice to go to her so called Grandma's. After a few days living there though, she starts wondering if that was the greatest choice with all of the rules, barn chores, and country kids around her. After a teacher finding a doodle of Shawna's in the trash that suggests suicidal thoughts, she starts going to a counselor with her grandmother, despite her will, especially since she knows in side that Magic, the neighbors horse, is the best counselor for her. Will Shawna learn how to live a happier life, and will she begin to think of her Grandmothers as home? Or will she stay huddled up in an unhappy life for years to come?

At first I wasn't sure about how much I would like "Sliding on Edge." However, as I got deeper into the story, it turned out to be pretty good! I liked how C.Lee Mckenzie included the bond between Shawna and the horse, Magic. I think that it helped enrich the story, and it helped me be more interested in the story. It also added a special touch to the story, I think. "Sliding on Edge" was well written, and pretty well paced! Overall, I enjoyed it, and hope that you will to!

I rocked the DROP!! Yay!

Today I rocked the Drop! How exciting!!

Readergirlz and two other bloggers donated 8,000 books to different hospitals today! Isn't that amazing? Congrats!

And while they were handing out books , readers have been putting books out in their area for lucky book lovers to find!

I put out a copy of "The Ashwater Experiment" at McDonalds today for someone to find! I hope that whoever finds it enjoys reading it!

Did you donate any books in honor of Rock the Drop today? If so, feel free to share!!

Congrats to Tricia Mills!

Congratulations to Tricia Mills for your new release "HeartBreak River" which was released today!

Here is the Amazon blurb:

From BookList:
Once a carefree river rafter in her small town in Colorado, Alex, 16, spends the summer after her dad’s drowning feeling scared of the water and overcome with sorrow and guilt. After Dad came home severely depressed from serving in Iraq, should Alex have spent more time with him instead of hanging out with gorgeous Sean? Why did she tell Sean that her father’s death was his fault? If only she could make herself apologize. There is too much going on in this first novel, with its big cast of teens who Alex supervises at her grandparents’ rafting business. But Mills builds suspense in both the romance and the moving drama of family secrets and loss. The fast talk and Alex’s first-person narrative are right on, especially in the quarrels. Best of all is the setting, which is powerfully described in scenes of Alex struggling to overcome her phobia and return to the wild rushing river she loves.

It sounds awesome right?

If you want to buy a copy here is a link:

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Winner of "The Debs" contest!! Congratulations To......

Are you wondering who has won?

I have drawn the names for the winner of "The Debs!!" How exciting!! Since my first contest has ended, it is time for me to tell you the results!

The drawing was completely random, I took all of the names, wrote them on a piece of paper, and stuck them in a wooden pot, ruffled them around, and came up with the winner!!

And..Congratulations to


I have sent you an email!!

Thanks to everyone for entering! Keep checking back for my next contest in May!!

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme started by "Breaking the Spine" blog,

I found that this book looks interesting! What do you think? What upcoming book are YOU waiting for?
Book: "Ballad: A Gathering of Faerie"
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
"In this sequel to Lament, faeries follow James and Dee to Thornking-Ash, where James struggles with his feelings for Dee and for the dangerous faerie muse, Nuala. When Halloween plunges both Dee and Nuala into danger, James finds he can only save one. "

Why I think it sounds good:
It sounds interesting, and I love reading faerie books!

Visit Mrs. Stiefvater here!

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Hurry! Hurry! Its almost over!!

Be sure, if you haven't already, to enter "The Debs" contest!! Todays the last day! I will post the winner tomorrow! I'm excited that it got so many entries, and that Garden of Books has a few more followers now! Look out for the next contest!!

Sunday, April 12, 2009

How do I plan to rock the drop??

You might have heard already, or this might be your first time, but Readergirlz blog, as well as others, have formed a great organization and on April 16th are planing on dropping LOADS of books donated by publishers to many different hospitals around the U.S.A!

So, how do I plan on rocking the drop?
I plan on rocking the drop by:

-Spreading the word through blog posts!

-Hopefully (?) dropping of a book in town on April 16th for someone to happily find and enjoy! Yay!

What do YOU plan on doing to rock the drop?

For more information:

Thanks for rocking the drop!

Review: "Seven Tears Into the Sea"

Book: "Seven Tears Into the Sea"
Author: Terrie Farley
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4.5 out of 5

When Gwen Cooke was only ten years old, and when her family was still living next to Gram's place on the beach. Gwen woke up one night after sleepwalking onto the beach, and she woke up to a sight that would change her life seven years later. "Becken the Sea, I'll come to thee, shed seven tears, perchance seven years." said the strange man. After all of the rumors that floated around the village after the incident, and after Gwen and her family moves away to a different city, she decides to not come back until seven years later when her Grandmother needs her help at the bed and breakfast that she runs. Now, seven years later, the boy that she met on the beach when she was only ten years old returns to her and they begin to fall in love. However, when she finds out his true secret, what will Gwen decide to do?

I first started to become a fan of Terri Farley when I started reading and loving her "Phantom Stallion" series. Then I started reading her "Wile Horse Islands" series. Now, I have finally gotten the chance to read "Seven Tears Into The Sea" (Thanks Terri!) and absoluetly loved it! Terri did a great job incorporating the ancient Celtic stories with a modern girls live, in a believable, wonderful way. I thought that the story was pretty well paced. I really enjoyed "Seven Tears Into the Sea" and for sure suggest it!

Easter Special...In My Mailbox!

Happy Easter fellow blog readers!!!

Thanks to Kristi from The Story Siren for giving us a reason to blog on Sunday about all of our great books that we got in the mail during the week! Yay!

So, this week was pretty good! I got ten books, but four of them are for the "Being Nikki" contest which you should be sure to enter! Just click on the sidebar!!

Here is what a got:
"Sea Change" by Aimee Friedman

Eeek! I am sooo excited to read this one! The cover is even prettier than the picture above! I love it!!! And it sounds amazing!! Thanks for sending it to me Aimee!

"The Lake That Stole Children' by Douglas Glenn Clark

Sounds interesting, it should be a fast read since its only 40 pages!!

"Because I Love Her" by Andrea N. Richesin

This one looks really good, thanks Andrea for sending it to me! I think it would make a great Mothers day gift to!

"The Awakening" by Kelley Armstrong

It looks amazing! I got it from harperteen, thank you!! First I need to read "The Summoning" though!
"When The Black Girl Sings" by Bil Wright

This one looks neat to! The cover is pretty!

I also got two copies of "Airhead" and two copies of "Being Nikki" for the one and only "Being Nikki" celebration contest on my other blog!!! Be sure to check it out...just click the sidebar!

Sorry for the "Click to look inside" parts of some of the images! I got them from

Friday, April 10, 2009

Review: "Lifting the Sky"

Book: "Lifting the Sky"
Author: Mackie D'Arge
Pages: 310
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Cover rating: 4.2 out of 5

12 year old Blue has never lived anywhere for more than three months since her Father ran away from her and her mother at the age of 4 saying that he was going out to buy some mustard. No, Blue and her Mom live together at different ranches in Wyoming. Her Mom always gets a job at being a ranch hand and so they always have living quarters. Blue dreams of living in a house in the mountains, peaceful and beautiful, and to stay much more permanently then what they were used to. She even draws a picture of her dream. Soon, her dream starts coming true when her Mom finds an add looking for a ranch hand at a ranch not far away from were they landed. Blue starts to get her hopes up as Mr. Mac, the owner, lets Blue and her mom stay in the big house that looks like the dream house she drew in her picture. However, it needs a few repairs and such, but maybe if she pulls it off, she will be able to convince her mom to stay. Thats not the only excitement that happens at the ranch though, Blue has a power of seeing 'lights' around her and other people, animals, and objects. At the ranch, the lights seem to get brighter and Blue learns how to use them to help others and her calf with the broken leg. A lot more adventures await in "Lifting The Sky" but I don't want to spoil the fun of reading about them!!

"Lifting the Sky" turned out different than what I thought it would be like. I didn't know that Blue would have powers in the story! Even so, I enjoyed it. It was clean, adventurous, and adventurous. Blue is a like able character! However, I did think the middle of the story was a little bit slow, but by the end it picked up into a nice pace again. Mackie D'Arge concluded the story nicely. Overall, it was a pretty enjoyable story except for it being a little slow in the middle!

Thursday, April 9, 2009

"The Debs" contest extras!

Its only five days away to the end of my contest for a chance to win "The Debs!!" I would love for more entrants to come along!!

I have decided to add one more chance to get a few extra entries in the contest!! If you want to get +2 entries on top of your others, just start following the "Being Nikki" blog! You can just post the extra entry on the contest comments and I will take care of all the adding!!

You can get to the contest by clicking on the first sidebar!


Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Canada Month!!

ReaderRabbit is hosting Canada month over at her blog!! Here is a link to her blog....Unfortunatley her main page is blocked from my viewing so I have to give you a link to her recent contest, which I'm sure you'll like :)

Enjoy...oh and speaking of contests, be sure to enter "The Debs!!" on THIS blog! (Are you sick of me asking you yet?)

Monday, April 6, 2009

Have you been eyeing "Me, My Elf, and I?" lately?

Hi guys!

Well, guess what? If you are looking forward to reading "Me, My Elf, and I" then heres your chance to do so early! Sharon at, "Sharon Loves Books and Cats" is giving away a copy of it! Yay! So head on over to this link: and may all your elf dreams come true :) :) :)

Ohh...and since were talking so much about GREAT contests here...I just wanted to throw in a reminder about winning a copy of "The Debs" on THIS blog!!! Have YOU entered it yet?? If not, you should! Link is on the first sidebar!! sure to blog about it to get more points!

Book Review: "Faery Rebels"

Book: "Faery Rebels: Spell Hunter"
Author: R.J. Anderson
Pages: 327
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4 out of 5

Cover suggestion:
I think that it would have been neat if the cover had glitter on the faery wings and on some of the vines!


Knife has lived in a faery world that is different. There is hardly any magic in the lives of the faery's, and the faery's are afraid to adventure beyond the large oak that they live in. However, Knife is different. She wants to be free, shes not afraid of the outside world, and she is smart. When Knife starts sneaking out of the oak and meets up the crippled boy that lives in the house by the oak, new ideas and hopes open up for Knife. Though art was lost to her faery realm ages ago, Paul teaches her how to draw. Knife and Paul become friends, especially after Knife saved Paul from nearly killing himself in despair for his body condition. Knife starts to discover secrets that no one knew before. Knife feels the urge to learn more, and help break the mystery. However, her bond with Paul grows stronger, and she learns that faery's have actually lived with humans before, Knife has some serious choices to make. Will she decide the right things or will she bring the faery realm into a worse spot than what it is already at?

I really enjoyed reading "Faery Rebels!" R.J. Anderson portrayed the faery's differently than most stories and I enjoyed that. Knife was easy to like with her witty ideas and humor! I thought that the story moved along at a good pace and overall, I really like it. Even though the suggested age is 10+, I think that older readers will still enjoy it! I really hope that R.J continues the series with more "Faery Rebels!"

In My Mailbox!

So...this week I only got two books, and I have already read them both!

I got:

Avalon High: Coronation (Volume One)


"Eyes Like Stars"
ARC from author...the cover is much different then this one!!

Sunday, April 5, 2009

Updates: Contest Info and "Being Nikki!"


Here are some updates for you!

-Be sure to enter the contest for "The Debs" and get extra entries by following this blog and spreading the word!

-Check out the new blog on Meg Cabots upcoming book "Being Nikki" here:

-I have started up a bookmooch account finally! You can friend me if you would like! My username is PoloPony!

-Keep watch for a great contest on the "Being Nikki" blog!

-I will hopefully be posting some book reviews today!

Friday, April 3, 2009

Do you like Meg Cabot??

Hi everyone!

I have started a guest blog on the upcoming book, "Being Nikki" by Meg Cabot. There will be contests, author posts, reviews, and more! So you should definitely check it out, and follow to make sure that you don't miss anything!


Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Book Review: "Springtime Breakup" by Stephanie Hale

Book: "Spring Breakup"
Author: Stephanie Hale

Pages: 231

Rating: 4 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Aspen is looking forward to a nice spring break spent with her boyfriend, Rand, and two of her best friends, Lucas and Angel. However, it starts out badly the minute Aspen finds out that the airport lost her sparkly purple suitcase. Things only get worse though. Aspen wakes up the next morning to a nasty case of food poisoning (probably from all of the crab she ate the night before). During her day along, Aspen finds out about how the Illinois pageant contestant goes missing, and finding her inner Nancy Drew, sets of to solve the mystery. Aspen decides to enter the contest to help with the mystery and soon finds out how hard being in a pageant really is. Who new? And to top it all of, Angel decides that Lucas should commit himself to her forever and they breakup. Will Apsen and Rand be able to solve the mystery, be in the pageant, and get Angel and Lucas back together? Find out by reading "Spring Breakup" by Stephanie Hale!

I really enjoyed reading this book! It was fun, quirky, and makes a great read. At times the story may not have been very realistic, but Stephanie made it work. I think that its fun to read about things that might not really happen in the real world! Stephanie's writing style is really fun and easy to read and her four main characters are well developed. I thought that Rand made a really good boyfriend and it was nice how perfect Rand and Aspen where for each other. Overall, I really liked this book and hope that you do to! I will be sure to read more of Stephanie Hales young adult books!

******Be Sure to check out the contest on THIS blog for "The Debs!!" 3 reviews down, or click on the sidebar!!! Ends on the 14th, so hurry!!*******

Book Review: "Avalon High: Coronation" by Meg Cabot

Book: "Avalon High: Coronation, The Merlin Prophecy (Volume 1)"
Author: Meg Cabot
Pg. Number: 107
Rating: 2 out of 5
Cover Rating: 3 out of 5

"Avalon High: Coronation, The Merlin Prophecy" is the second in the "Avalon High" series by Meg Cabot. Ellie's life isn't a typical teen girls life. In fact, she and her boyfriend are really people from the Arthurian age, even if they don't quite believe it. However, when she has to figure out how to convince Will to believe that he is King Arthur, before Friday night when the Zeinth of the hunters moon rises so that the world can have peace again. However, will Ellie be able to convince Will, even though shes not sure she believes herself? Among juggling with the knowledge of having a former life, being nominated for homecoming queen, and trying to get Will to believe that he is truly King Arthur, plus trying to get his family back together, Ellie for sure has on eventful life!

I was surprised to open the book, and find that its a comic! I expected it to be in written format, like the first book, "Avalon High", in the series. I read "Avalon High: Coronation The Merlin Prophecy" in about one hour tonight, and was disappointed. I didn't like how Ellie was portrayed as someone that was a bit to helpless at times. The story also was full of angry or sad parts, a lot of depressing parts for such a fast read! If you are looking for a quick read to help you get away from everyday life, you might enjoy this one but I suggest renting it from the library. Also, this book comes in parts so this is the first volume in the "Coronation" part of "Avalon High." While I loved Meg's first "Avalon High", I didn't really like this book, and it was not what I expected. However, I do applaud Meg Cabot on her wonderful writing talent that is easy to come by in her books, and how she is able to right both regular books as well as comics!

Book Review: "Being Nikki" by Meg Cabot

Book: “Being Nikki”

Author: Meg Cabot

Rating: 4 out of 5

Cover Rating: 4.5 out of 5


What would you do if you were a normal high school girl living a pretty good life, when all of a sudden you’ve got a body of a supermodel? That’s what happened to Em Watts – or should I say Nikki? Nikki is back in Meg Cabot’s new “Being Nikki” and who new that the former Nikki’s life could have been so messed up? When Em finds out that Nikki had a brother when he shows up in her apartment building and tells her that his Mother is missing, Nikki and her friends try to find his mother, but will the be able to do it? And at the same time Em is juggling her love emotions over her former best friend Christopher, but he doesn’t know that she is still alive only in a different body and is trying to seek revenge of Stark Enterprises, which he sees is the reason that his best friend is so called dead. And when Nikki finds out that the former Nikki that was said to have died because of a rare amorism might just be alive….well, find out what happens next by reading “Being Nikki” by Meg Cabot!

I was really excited when I got “Being Nikki” because I have read the first in the series, “Airhead” and loved it! I don’t think that the sequel was quite as good, but a lot of times they aren’t. Nikki’s life was so exciting and unpredictable, you never new what would happen next, if you would predict one thing, something totally different could happen! Meg Cabot’s writing is fabulous and she really knows how to capture a reader and get them to keep reading – I was up until 1:00 A.M. last night reading it! I thought that at times the story was a little bit slow though. I really did like this book though and will keep reading this series!