Monday, August 31, 2009



I feel so out of the loop! I haven't been blogging on this blog for a while now and haven't been able to keep up with all of the upcoming book releases! I've been so busy with 4-H and setting up my other blog! Crazy! Plus, I have been working on orders that I've received for Header Requests, which reminds me I have 2 more to make today plus a new one that I want to make for this blog! So, I haven't been able to update much, but that shall change soon!!! I will be posting more reviews again, don't worry!!

Ohhh, also, how do you like my new signature? Please remind me to remember to put it at the end of all of my new posts! lol! And, you might have noticed I changed my profile pic! lol!

I did just right a new review, which you can find below this post!

Thanks for sticking by!!

Review: I Can't Keep My Own Secrets

Book: I Can't Keep My Own Secrets
Author: Teen authors of 800 6 word memoirs.
Pages: 182
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cover Rating: 3 out of 5

"Told You I'd Be Published Someday" (Kat A.) is the first 6 worded memoir out of 800 in the book "I Can't Keep My Own Secrets." This book is made up of hundreds of six words that describes the lives of 800 teens across the country. They range from being funny such as: "Never shopping at West Seal again" or sad, "Roots are Shallow, Wings Are Broken," and thoughtful, "I'm still figuring out my story" among others.

I really enjoyed reading this book, it made me realize how much worse thousands of other kids lives are then just a single bad day in my life. The memoirs may have only been 6 words, however, the teens that wrote the 6 words did a wonderful job at describing something that means everything to them. That is talent. This was a quick book to read, but is a keeper!

Sunday, August 23, 2009

Win a book!

Coming 12/22/09 from Bloomsbury...

Nimira is a music-hall girl used to dancing for pennies. So when wealthy sorcerer Hollin Parry hires her to sing accompaniment to a mysterious piano-playing automaton, Nimira believes it will be the start of a better life. In Parry's world, long-buried secrets are about to stir. Unsettling rumors begin to swirl about ghosts, a madwoman roaming the halls, and Parry’s involvement in a group of corrupt sorcerers for whom the rules of the living and dead are meant to be broken for greater power. When Nimira discovers the spirit of a dashing fairy gentleman is trapped within the automaton, she is determined to break the curse. But even as the two fall into a love that seems hopeless, breaking the curse becomes a perilous race against time. Because it's not just the future of these star-crossed lovers that's at stake, but the fate of the entire magical world.

Want to win an ARC with original sketches from the author inside? See for details!

Friday, August 21, 2009

Win a $40 dress!


I just started up a giveaway (courtesy of the fabulous Shabby Apple) and would love for you to check it out and enter! The dress is adorable and is great quality. I think that you will really like it, and if you don't I'm sure you know someone who would!

This dress is valued at $40!

Check out the giveaway here!

Saturday, August 15, 2009

Remodeled - and better than ever!

Some of you might remember a while back when I posted about me making headers. Well, I have remodeled the blog that I had made for them. Now, I have info on me making you a header, I have free headers that you can use, plus I have examples of custom headers that I have made for others! So stop by and take a look! While your at it, please follow so you can see all of my upcoming creations!

Here is the link!

Thank you very much!

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Review: "After" by Amy Efaw

Book: "After"
Author: Amy Efaw
Pages: 350
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 5 out of 5

"An infant left in the trash to die. A teenage mother who never knew she was pregnant . . .

Before That Morning, these were the words most often used to describe straight-A student and star soccer player Devon Davenport: responsible, hardworking, mature. But all that changes when the police find Devon home sick from school as they investigate the case of an abandoned baby. Soon the connection is made—Devon has just given birth; the baby in the trash is hers. After That Morning, there’s only one way to define Devon: attempted murderer.

And yet gifted author Amy Efaw does the impossible— she turns Devon into an empathetic character, a girl who was in such deep denial that she refused to believe she was pregnant. Through airtight writing and fast-paced, gripping storytelling, Ms. Efaw takes the reader on Devon’s unforgettable journey toward clarity, acceptance, and redemption. "
Amazon Product Description

"After" by Amy Efaw was heartbreaking. As I read Devon's story, after her life as a great soccer player full of dreams and inspiration, I felt so many different emotions. Sadness, grief, happiness that the baby survived and was found, anger, among others. Amy did such a wonderful job creating her characters and by making the story believable. You can tell that Amy Efaw did her reasearch on this subject and figured out what kind of girl would do this. Sometimes Devon was frustrating but yet, even though she did such a horrid, horrid, thing, by reading the story you can see why she did what she did and who she really is, making it almost impossible to like her character. This was a very sad book, however, I think that it is one that every teen girl should read.

Certain Strain Of Peculiar Winner!

congrats.png congrats image by MAtwinglesmom

Congrats to SarahChristine, you won a copy of "A Certain Strain of Peculiar!" I will be emailing you shortly!

In my contest, everyone had to mention one thing thats peculiar about them. Here is what Sarah said:

"hmm something peculiar...well my feet are different sizes,one is a 8 1/2 and the other is a 7."

Again, congrats!

If Sarah does not respond within 48 hours, I will choose a new winner

Congratulations to.....

PartyHatKids.jpg Party Hat Kids image by spookannie

Do you guys remember this giveaway? Well, I have finally chosen the winner!!

The winner of the "Clique Summer Collection" giveaway goes to..........
Dylan from the movie

Caylee!!! Congratulations Caylee! I have emailed you asking for your address so the books can get sent out to you!

Some notes:

-I will be posting the winners of the "20 Boy Summer" contest soon as well
-I am going to post the winner of the "Certain Strain Of Peculiar" contest today!
-I am sooo sorry for not posting the winners sooner!
-Keep watching for the next fabulous giveaway!!

Hey, Friendly Fellas!

I found this image on the other day and like it so much! So I felt like using it! lol!

So, I just thought that I should make a post with a few updates. I'm so sorry that I haven't been on and updating as much as usual, I've been so busy with my brothers birthday, shooting sports (archery), among other things! And now, not next week but the two after that, I will be working for my Grandma in her daycare and I'm not sure if my laptop will have connection there! So, I will try to schedule some posts, which I have never done before, but we shall see! :)

I have a new review up on my other blog for this adorable dress which I am wearing right now as I type this! You should for sure check it out!

Thank you to my brother for showing me that you can make blue links using blogger!! Yay!! That makes things so much easier!

Also, I will most likely be posting a few GREAT giveaways on the blog mentioned above, so you should for sure follow so you are in the know!

Right now, I am reading "Secret Society" which I am only on page 8 so far! Last night I finished "Love, Lies, And Texas Dips" by Susan McBride, which you can expect a review for soon!

Ohhh, and yesterday I went to Borders and was walking along and glanced two teen books in the sale shelf!!! I quick walked back and it was a "Gossip Girl" book and a "Clique" book! And the best part was that they were only 3.99! So, I bought them of course. However, later that day when I pulled the books out of the bag, guess what I noticed?? A Walmart price tag on both of them! LoL! What is Borders doing selling Walmart books?

Does anyone have any suggestions for what I should read next?

Look forward to a review of "Prada and Prejudice" coming up next!!

Thursday, August 6, 2009

Review: Ghost Huntress, The Guidance

Book: Ghost Huntress: The Guidance
Author: Marley Gibson
Pages: 309
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4 out of 5
I really loved the first cover in the series

Kendall is back again and things are heating up in her ghost hunting world! Kendall has to juggle ghosthunting, her boyfriend, school, her own friends, and, well, her mom. She has been helping out a bunch of people get rid of their ghosts but it seems like she hasn't been sparing any boyfriend time. Her boyfriend starts getting annoyed with her because it seems like they can never just be a lone without something ghosty happening. Thats not her only problem. Popular enemy, Courtney, is jealous of Kendall because Kendall is gaining popularity. So, Courtney decideds to trump her and pretend that she is physic as well. However, things go terribly wrong and Kendall can only hope that things will go back to normal, will Kendall and Courtney settle on a slight friendship, or will it be to late?

"Ghost Huntress: The Guidance" was so...interesting! This series is so different from any other book that I have read. Sometimes it seemed like Kendall was a bit to whiny and at times it felt like the writing seemed like Marley was trying a tadge bit to hard to suit teen girls tastes, however, in all this book was a fun, but strange at times, book to read. And hey, strange is always good! It gives you a whole new perspective on things!

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

Review: Me My Elf and I

Book: Me, My Elf, and I
Author: Heather Swain
Pages: 279
Bought, Received, or Rented: Rented from the library! I was very excited when I saw it there!
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cover Rating: 3.8 out of 5
I don't like that half of the face is on the cover, and then it is finished on the spine and back cover, I wish that just the half of the face was on the cover but something different on the spine and back.

Who knew that elves weren't short, but they are really model tall? Well, in Alverland, the community of elves, they are for sure not what "elders" would expect! Everyone is always happy, perky, and nice to each other. Everyone loves each other and life is less complicated socially than with regular humans. 15 year old Zephyr is happy about who she is, however, she wants to be able to perform and Alverland just doesn't have what she desires. So, Zephyr convinces her parents that she is ready to go to real school when they move to Brooklyn, New York. Zephyr soon finds out how different being an elf is compared to what everyone else is like. And she is so confused! What are all those abbreviations that everyone uses? LoL, JK, etc...., how will she be able to do it? Soon though, Zephyr makes two great friends and is on the fast tracks to popularity, until she makes a mistake that could ruin everything....

Heather Swain really put together a story that gives a whole new idea on who elves are. Its true, we always expect elves to be short and wear little pointy caps that have jingles on the tops, but why? Why are they short? What do they do when its not Christmas time? Heather switched up the classic views of elf's and made them very original in her story! "Me My Elf and I" was really cute and had some good lessons in it. I do wish that a few of the characters were a bit more developed though. Overall, "Me, My Elf, and I" was a cute, light read! Enjoy!

Sunday, August 2, 2009

Review: Prophecy of the Sisters
Book: Prophecy of the Sisters
Author: Michelle Zink
Rating: 5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 5 out of 5
The cover is so different from most YA books! Its unique and I love it!

Twin sisters, Alice and Lia, are cursed by an ancient prophecy that has been past down from generation to generation. However, they are divided, one is good, the other is evil, they both want something different and throughout the story struggle to get what they want. The two sisters that were together forever, even in their own mothers womb, will be split into two separate ways and only one of the sisters will accomplish what they are planning, the question is, will it be for the good or the evil?

Michelle Zink put together a fabulous debut novel. The story is so captivating and keeps your reading. It is full of mystery, sadness, hurt, and love. I'm not sure how to explain how great this book is, it just is truly fabulous! At times it was creepy, but that just added to the story! If you haven't already read it, I encourage you to buy it from Amazon A.S.A.P!

Prophecy of the sisters release date was yesterday, August 1st! Make sure to congratulate Michelle!