Tuesday, June 30, 2009

The Everything Jane Austen Challenge!


I have decided to join in on the fun and participate in the Jane Austen challenge! For this challenge, all you need to do is choose six things that relate to Jane Austen and complete them!


Here is my list:

1. Read "Pride and Prejudice"
2. Watch "Pride and Prejudice"
3. Read "Emma"
4. Watch "Emma"
5. Watch "Lost In Austen"
6. Watch "Sense and Sensibility"

If you would like to join in, you can find the info here!


Monday, June 29, 2009

20 Things In 20 Days: Bonus Clue #19

Word Ninjas, Ink

To celebrate the launch of Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler, I'm blogging a bonus clue for the 20 Things in 20 Days Scavenger Hunt. Answer clues and challenges to earn points toward the 20 Things grand prize, including 6 signed books from 2009 debut authors! Get a clue... June 11th-30th at http://sarahockler.com/2009/06/10/20-things-in-20-days-scavenger-hunt

Today's Bonus Clue:

Sarah Ockler loves to eat outside in the summer, but as a vegetarian who hates watermelon, she doesn't have much luck at summer picnics and barbecues! For a 20 Things bonus clue, post your favorite veg-friendly, non-melon summer recipe in the comments. 3 points. 2 extra points if Sarah tries and likes your recipe!

To find the main clue for today, visit Jess at Book Reviews By Jess! http://bookreviewsbyjess.blogspot.com/2009/06/20-things-in-20-days-clue-19.html


Sunday, June 28, 2009

Review: The Clique Summer Collection - Massie


Book: Massie
Series: The Clique Summer Collection
Book Number: 1
Page Number: 123
Author: Lisi Harrison
Rating: 3 out of 5
Cover Rating: 3.5 out of 5

The "Clique" girls are back in the Summer "Clique" series! Each book features a different girl and in this one it features Massie. After Massie gets kicked out of the prestige riding stable after a stunt she played to get one of the girls to stay in their saddles, she is back to her parents house for the summer. *sigh*, and her besties aren't there with her! And yikes!! Her closet at home is so outdated! Massie goes to use her credit card to purchase some new outfits and what do you know, the card is cancelled! Massie's parents decide as punishment to the stunt she played that got ther kicked out of the school, she has to get a job and pay them back for the fee's of the school. Massie' summer dreams all fade away as she starts her search for the perfect summer job that would be more like a jobby (job+hobby). She's having no such luck....until she see's a certain add in a Vogue magazine which is to sell makeup products to people. Massie starts her job and is loving it, however, she goes a little overboard with the ways she convinces people. Will Massie Summer turn out to be ok after all? Or will it all come tumbling down even more?

I was pretty disappointed with this book actually. Massie was so spoiled and didn't care about anyones feelings except her own, so selfish! Another thing that bugged me was the horseback riding parts. It was so unrealistic! Overall, I did not espcially like this book, however, if you would like to try it, it would make a light easy beach read!

Thursday, June 25, 2009

New Bookmarks! Yay!

New Bookmarks

So sorry this one is the wrong direction, for some reason Blogger switched it!

This one actually comes in a set, however I didn't take pictures of the whole set. Email me if you would like to see them!


Today I spent quite a bit of time crafting a few more bookmarks and I think they turned out pretty nice!! Let me know what you think!

If you would like to purchase any or all of them, please email me!!! They are reasonably priced!

Thanks for looking!

Monday, June 22, 2009

Review: Paradise Lost


Book: Paradise Lost
Author: Kate Brian
Series number: 9
Rating: 5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is one of my favorite covers in this series! I love the dresses and the background. However, the girl in the green looks so terribly snotty, doesn't she?

Reed now knows who the culprit of Cheyenne's murder was and Noelle has befriended her again. Now, she is off to a carefree vacation with Noelle and a few other Billing's girls to the Caribbean - or...maybe not so carefree. Trouble always seems to find Reed and someone seems to be stalking her again, unless the handlebars on the just checked over jet ski locking up was a coincidence, I think not! Will Reed's stalker accomplish her mission? Or will Reed end up safe like usual?

"Paradise Lost" was terrific! I loved reading this book! Just when you think that Reeds life is looking up, something new happens to change that all around. This book is very entertaining, and even has a bit of romance in it as Reed starts falling for Uptom and he seems to be falling for her. The end of "Paradise Lost" left me really really really wanting to read the next book in the series, and to bad that one dosen't come out for another few months! Very disapointing! Kate Brian's "Private" series are so exciting and this one was no exception!

Review: "Flirting With Boys"


Books: Flirting With Boys
Author: Hailey Abbot
Pages: 240
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cover Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Celeste Tippan is bummed that her boyfriend Travis isn't going to be around while she's stuck working at her family owned resort. Soon that changes though after Travis and his friends get into trouble and he is stuck with a job at the resort with her! Yay for Celeste! However, Celeste starts to wonder why Travis isn't so excited. Does he not want to spend time with her? Throughout "Flirting With Boys" Celeste starts seeing the not so good side of Travis and starts to see the good in Nick, one of the resorts clients. Will Celeste be able to decide who she should be with?

"Flirting With Boys" is a cute, light, and summery read which would be perfect beach read! I really enjoyed this book. However, at times it felt that Celeste should really start seeing who Travs is and that she could do so much better, so that got a little annoying at times! Overall, "Flirting with Boys" is a nice read for the hot months of Summer!

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Review: Its not you, Its Me

Book: "Its Not You, It's Me"
Author: Kerry Cohen Hoffmann
Pages: 176
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Zoe has had her dream boyfriend for six months now. Six whole months! She is in love. So what if she she stopped helping with the big school artistic newsletter that she had started. So what if she stopped spending as much time doing the things that she used to love. He's worth it - isn't he? Zoe is devastated. Her 6 month long term relationship boyfriend has broken up with her. Why? It must have been a mistake! Zoe is determined to get him back, no matter what it takes. Gushy poems snuck into his locker, dressing up, or even kissing another boy, just to make him realize that him breaking up with Zoe was a mistake. However, will it work?

This was for sure not the greatest book that I have read. I felt that the characters were not developed as well as they should have been. Zoe wasn't really written in a way that I could feel for her. Overall, I didn't especially enjoy this book, however you might love it! I just like it when you are able to relate and bond with the characters so that if something disappointing happens in the characters lives you can really feel for them! However, "Its Not You, It's Me," could make a nice book for someone who has just broken up with her boyfriend.

Waiting on Wednesday: All Unquiet Things

Book: "All Unquiet Things"
Author: Anna Jarzab
Release Date: January 10, 2010

"All Unquiet Things centers around the murder of teen heiress Carly Ribelli, who was found shot to death a mile from her house in a wealthy Northern California suburb. Carly’s uncle, a dissolute alcoholic, was convicted of the crime, but a year later his daughter still doesn’t believe her father is guilty. Determined to prove his innocence, Audrey Ribelli contacts Carly’s ex-boyfriend, Neily Monroe, the boy who found Carly’s body. She is convinced that he knows more than he thinks about the events that led up to Carly’s death. Despite Neily’s initial reluctance, he and Audrey begin their investigation at the posh private school they attend, identifying prime suspects from among their spoiled classmates and digging up secrets about Carly’s past to get to the truth behind her murder."

Thoughts: Oh my!! This looks fabulous!!! I am so excited to read this one! Doesn't it just look awesome? I am really looking forward to it!

Visit Anna here: www.annajarzab.com

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

30 Days To Finding and Keeping Sassy Sidekicks and BFF's

Book: "30 Days to Finding and Keeping Sassy Sidekicks and BFF's"
Author: Clea Hantman
Also author of: "30 Days to getting over the Dork you used to call your Boyfriend"
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4.5 out of 5

"Friendships are like bras,
Providing support and strength,
Uplifting the girls"
Pg. 28

Looking for friends and don't know where to start? Feeling like you want to make your already started friendship even better? Or maybe your just trying to figure out ways to develop your already good friendship into something that will last a lifetime! If so, "30 Days to Finding and Keeping Sassy Sidekicks and BFF's" by Clea Hantman is the book for you! Clea Hantman put together a great collection of advice, tips and activities to help you have great friendships!

I really liked this book! Clea Hantman is a terrific young adult writer. One of my favorite aspects of the book was her writing style. Her style wasn't cheesy or like she was trying to hard to sound cool to a teen, her writing style was just natural, fun and relatable! She also offered some great advice! I am a teen and I liked a lot of the activities such as activity 15 were you took something that you normally do and spice it up, however, I did think that a few of the activities were maybe closer to tween than teen. Overall, Clea put together a great friendship book that I hope gets a lot of readers!

Sunday, June 7, 2009

Finished the 48 Hour Reading Challenge!

Wooohoo! I just finished the 48 hour reading challenge!

It worked out perfectly because yesterday and today were such rainy/gloomy days - perfect for cuddling up with a good book!!

I started the challenge on Friday night at 10:45 P.M.

I finished 3 books and read but did not finish in others.

Books I finished:
-Prophecy of the Sisters
-20 Boy Summer
-30 Days to Keeping and Finding Sassy Sidekicks and BFF'S

I also read a bunch in "Private: Revelation" and a few pages in "It's Not Me, Its You!"

So, overall, I read about 13 hours and 30 minutes! I might mention that I went to the Sarah Quigley book signing event which also took away quite a bit of the reading time, but it was muchos fun, so I don't mind!

My goal for next year is to read for 20 hours!

Saturday, June 6, 2009

IMM Post: Vlog

I decided to actually follow through and post my vlog this week! Let me know if you would like me to keep doing them!!

Update in Status On 48 Hour Challenge

Last night I started the challenge at: 10:45 P.M
I finished reading for the night at: 1:30 A.M.

This morning I started reading at: 9:46
I stopped reading and took a break at: 10:08 A.M

So far I have finished reading:
-"Twenty Boy Summer"

I plan on finishing today:
-"Prophecy of the Sisters"
-"30 Days of Keeping and Finding Sassy Sidekicks and BFF's"

So, wish me the best of luck ♥ ☺

Friday, June 5, 2009

48 Hour Reading Challenge!

MotherReader: The Fourth Annual 48 Hour Book Challenge: Rules

I have decided to participate in the annual 48 Hour Reading Challenge this year!

I will begin the challenge at: 10:40 P.M. Central time on Friday Night.

Here is a list of some of the books that I am planning on finishing:
-"20 Boy Summer" (scroll down the blog for the contest!!)
-"Prophecy of the Sisters"
-"Revelation" by Kate Brian
-"Paradise Lost" by Kate Brian
-"The Miracle Girls"

So, we will see how far I get! I will be posting updates as I go, so stay tuned!

If you would like to participate, you can find out more information here:

Win 20 Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler!!


Win 1 of 5 copies of "20 Boy Summer!" By Sarah Ockler


""Don't worry, Anna. I'll tell her, okay? Just let me think about the best way to do it."
"Promise me? Promise you won't say anything?"
"Don't worry." I laughed. "It's our secret, right?"

According to her best friend Frankie, twenty days in Zanzibar Bay is the perfect opportunity to have a summer fling, and if they meet one boy ever day, there's a pretty good chance Anna will find her first summer romance. Anna lightheartedly agrees to the game, but there's something she hasn't told Frankie---she's already had that kind of romance, and it was with Frankie's older brother, Matt, just before his tragic death one year ago.

Beautifully written and emotionally honest, this is a debut novel that explores what it truly means to love someone and what it means to grieve, and ultimately, how to make the most of every single moment this world has to offer."

Contest Details:

You have probably seen a lot of contests around the blogsophere right now to win copies of "20 Boy Summer!" I am going to add to the list! The more contests for it, the more chances to win, right?!?

To enter:
Post a comment telling me what you make if you had some sea-glass. The most creative entry will win a copy of the book! The rest will be randomly chosen.

+3: Follow this blog!
+3: Post about this contest on your blog
+1: Add my blog to your blogroll
+2: Tweet about this contest and include me at: PoloPony95
+5: Purchase something from my A-store and tell me what you bought!

Thanks for entering and goodluck!

This contest is only open to residents of the U.S. and will end on June 30th!

My Wishlist

Alyssa from The Shady Glade blog, http://theshadyglade.blogspot.com/ , posted a list of all of her books that she is wishing for, new, or older! So, I decided to post one of my own!

These are all books that I would love to have, and would be willing to trade for! I have some pretty good books to trade for them if you are willing, including "The Awakening" by Kelley Armstrong (as well as others)! So, feel free to email me if you have any of these that you would want to trade for!

-Gemma Doyle Trilogy books
-Before I die
-Coffeehouse Angel
-Dream Girl
-North of Beautiful
-Something Maybe
-Living Dead Girl
-Princess of the Midnight Ball
-Amaranth Enchantment
-Saving Juliet
-If I Stay
-The summer I turned pretty
-Last Winter (Kate Brian)
-Sleepaway Girls
-Thirteen Reasons Why
-Because I am Furniture
-The Black Sheep
-Sarah Dessen Books
-When It Happens
-On Pointe
-Braless in Wonderland
-The Juliet Club
-Lipstick Apology
-Girl At Sea
-Suite Scarlett
-If I have a wicked stepmother, wheres my prince?
-Sloppy Firsts
-Frogs and French Kisses
-Hush: An Irish Princesses Tail
-I was a teenage Popsicle
-My Fair Godmother
-I Heart You, You Haunt Me
-A Certain Slant of Light
-How I found the Perfect Dress
-A Kiss in Time
-A Sweet Disorder
-The Kings Rose

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Winner of "The Real Real!!!"

The Winner of the ARC of "The Real Real" is......................

.........Megan!!! Congratulations Megan! I will email you A.S.A.P!!

In her post, Megan chose that if any book got turned into a television series, she would want to have a role in the "Private" series by Kate Brian! Just a heads up Megan, the books ARE going to be turned into a television (or web, not sure) series and they are looking for someone to play the role of Kiran, so if you go to the "Private" web page, you can find the information! Goodluck! It would be awesome to see you in them!

Megan has 3 days to reply back to me and if I don't receive a reply I will choose a new winner

Monday, June 1, 2009

Win the WHOLE "Clique: Summer Collection!!!!!"

The Pretty Committee is spending the summer apart, but they’re never far from drama... Five girls. Five stories. One ah-mazing summer.



Find more information visit here: http://www.pickapoppy.com

Sound interesting?? If so, be sure to enter this fab-U-Lous contest to win the WHOLE "Clique Summer Collection!!!" Pretty cool, I'd say!!

Are you in?

If so, read below to find out how to get your entries in!

+2: Begin to follow my blog

+3: If you already follow my blog

+3: If you make a post on your blog about this contest

+1: Add this contest to your sidebar

+5: If you buy something from my A-store (link on sidebar)

Please be sure to leave your email addy with your comment!

Sorry, but this contest is only open to the U.S.