Sunday, May 31, 2009



Recently Amber from Must and Lust for books: wanted to find some bookmarks to buy for a reasonable price. So, I offered to make her some! I'm very happy that she mentioned them on her vlog post here: saying how gorgeous they are and how pleased she is with them!

If you are looking for cute bookmarks to purchase, please email me at: and I would be happy to make you some!

Saturday, May 30, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday: All Unquiet Things

Book: "All Unquiet Things" Author: Anna Jarzab Release Date: January 10, 2010 "All Unquiet Things centers around the murder of teen heiress Carly Ribelli, who was found shot to death a mile from her house in a wealthy Northern California suburb. Carly’s uncle, a dissolute alcoholic, was convicted of the crime, but a year later his daughter still doesn’t believe her father is guilty. Determined to prove his innocence, Audrey Ribelli contacts Carly’s ex-boyfriend, Neily Monroe, the boy who found Carly’s body. She is convinced that he knows more than he thinks about the events that led up to Carly’s death. Despite Neily’s initial reluctance, he and Audrey begin their investigation at the posh private school they attend, identifying prime suspects from among their spoiled classmates and digging up secrets about Carly’s past to get to the truth behind her murder." Thoughts: Oh my!! This looks fabulous!!! I am so excited to read this one! Dosen't it just look awesome? I am really looking forward to it!

Visit Anna here:

Friday, May 29, 2009

Garden of Books Forum


I just started up a forum to go along with this blog and was wondering if anyone would be interested in joining? If so, that would be wonderful!

Here is a link:


Also, I just want to say that I am not trying to beat out Chelsea for YA book forum! I am a member of her forum and am enjoying it and will continue to do so! So please take a peak at hers as well!

Thursday, May 28, 2009

Review: The Summoning

Book: "The Summoning"
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Pages: 390
Rating: 5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4 out of 5

Since the day in school when Chloe saw a ghost and freaked out, she has continued to see them, and is now in a group home, Lyle house. However, it seems that she is not the only one with powers. She soon finds out that the others living at Lyle house also have dark powers. Is it just a coincidence? Or are these teens being tricked into believing they are someone whom they are not?

"The Summoning" was an amazing book! Kelley Armstrong is a very good writer, she is very descriptive which contributes to the already great story line. "The Summoning" is very intriguing and definitely kept me interested and reading. There were a lot twists that made it exciting as well!

I for sure suggest this to anyone who wants a great read. This probably would not make the best beach read as it is darker and more involved. Overall, this is a terrific book!

Oh, and did you notice my slight break of posting a review for one of the "Private" books? Hahaha! I do have three more "Private" reviews to come though! I'm not done yet!

Wednesday, May 27, 2009

Only 2 Days Left to Enter!!

There has only been 17 entries in my contest to win an ARC of "The Real Real!" And remember, if 50 people enter, I'm going to add another book to the prize. However, we only have 2 more days left before the contest ends so enter now and spread the word!!

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday!!

Waiting on Wednesday: "Suspicion" by Kate Brian

You guys may have noticed all of my reviews on the "Private" series books lately, I admit, I'm addicted! In fact, I finished two of the books in one day! They are all beautifully written and have so many unexpected twists! They are amazingly good! So, you can imagine that naturally I am excited for "Suspicion!!!"

"Suspicion" is book #10 in the "Private" series!

Release Date: September 8th

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing

Amazon Product Description:
"In the newest Private book from Kate Brian, Suspicion sets up a mystery that even Reed has never faced."

Not to much information on it yet, but its bound to be good!!

Preorder here!

Friday, May 22, 2009

Review: Untouchable

Book: "Untouchable" (Private Series)
Author: Kate Brian
Pages: 236
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4 out of 5
Book Number in Series: Book #3
Love the red sweater!

Reed is sort of in a trance after finding out the big news about her missing boyfriend. However, no one knows the real truth - yet. And Reed is officially a Billings Girl now - no more cleaning up after everyone anymore! Soon though, its Thanksgiving and all of her friends go back home except for her missing boyfriends best friend, Josh. Sparks start to fly between them and soon they become more than friends. However, is that the really the best of choices? Will all of the secrets and wondering of Easton High start to fit together to reveal what really happened?

I keep saying what wonderful books the "Private" series has been so far, and this one is no different! Like "Invitation Only," "Untouchable" is packed with twists and unexpected events that really livened it up and made it exciting. Truthfully, I can't really think of anything negative to say about this book. And the ending of this book was screaming "read the next one!!!!" And I am really excited because it came in to the library and my Mom is picking it up today! One things, I don't suggest reading 'Untouchable" unless you have read the other two in the series yet, "Private" and "Invitation Only." However, if you've read those two, I'm sure you will enjoy this one as well!

Review: Invitation Only

Book: "Invitation Only" (Private Series)
Author: Kate Brian
Pages: 257
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4 out of 5
Book Number in Series: 2

Read my review for the first in the series, "Private":

Reed is now a sought after Billings Girl. She has finally made it into the fanciest dorm at Easton Academy. However, she is still the new girl and to keep her status, is more like the dorm maid. Everyday she's up and cleaning all of the Billings Girls room messes. Not quite as glamorous as Reed had hoped. However, that's the least of her problems as her boyfriend is missing and police are interviewing all of the students, and things get even worse when her room mate takes pictures of her in the woods and uses them to blackmail her. Will Reed be good enough to continue being a Billings Girl? Or will she even be good enough to be in Easton Acadmey at all?

"Invitation Only" is even better than "Private!" I loved it! There were so many twists and turns which made it so exciting to read! It sort of seemed like Reed should start realizing what kind of person her missing boyfriend was and realize that she's so much better than him. However, this book was still really enjoyable!

Review: Private

Book: "Private"
Author: Kate Brian
Pages: 227
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Series Number: Book #1

Reed has finally escaped. She has escaped her gloomy, uneventful hometown. Most of all though, she has escaped her pill popping mom. She is now living at the prestigious Easton Academy. Ever since the first night in her dorm, when she first saw three girs through her window. She sees something special in them though. She soon finds out that they are the Billings girls, and from then forth, decides that she will try hard to become one of them. Will Reed be able to balance her schoolwork while at the same time work to befriend the girls?

I just started reading this series, and I love them! "Private" was exciting, new, and fun. I just love the setting of the story - a prestiguous school were people really do care about learning and getting good grades. I really enjoyed this book and for sure suggest the series!

Dying to read "Private?" Purchase it using this link!

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday!

Waiting on Wednesday!

This week, I am featuring: "An Off Year" by Claire Zulkey! It will be released on September 3rd!

Here is the blurb of off Amazon!

"Cecily has always done everything as she was supposed to: taken the right classes, gotten the right grades, applied to the right colleges. But after a lifetime of following the rules, she surprises everyone by arriving for her freshman year of college . . . and turning around. There are infinite possibilities for Cecily’s unexpected gap year. She could volunteer, or travel around the world—but, for now, Cecily is content to do absolutely nothing. What follows is a year of snarkily observed self-doubt and selfdiscovery during which Cecily must ask herself, for the first time, what does she really want to do with her life?"

You can pre order this book here:

And visit Claire here:

Review: "Love You, Hate You, Miss You" by Elizabeth Scott

Book: "Love You Hate You Miss You"
Author: Elizabeth Scott
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 5 out of 5

Amy is haunted with the accident that changed her life around less than a year ago. She feels like its her fault that her best friend Julia died in the accident that took away not only her best friend, but her happiness and will to live life as before. Thats not all though. After all these years of wishing and hoping that her parents would pay a little bit more attention to her, like most, she finally gets her wish after she turns into a so called "murderer." It just isn't the same now. Find out about what happens to Amy next; and if she will learn to accept the fact that it was an accident, not her fault, not Julia's fault, and that there is no on to blame in Elizabeth's Scott's brilliant, "Love You, Hate You, Miss You."

"Love You, Hate You, Miss You" was the first book that I have read by Elizabeth Scott, and I loved it! She is such a great writer and I really liked her characters. The plot and story line of this book reminded me a lot of "Cracked Up to Be," but I enjoyed it more. I really like how Elizabeth wrote Amy's character to be able to accept things and learn. I liked that she didn't portray her as being so tough, drinking all the time and getting hungover, and learning to live and love after such a tragedy. I think that really helped the story and made it more interesting to read! I am really looking forward to reading more of Elizabeth Scott's works!

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Review: When the Black Girl Sings

Book: When the Black Girl Sings
Author: Bil Wright
Pages: 266
Rating: 3.6 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4 out of 5
I think it expresses the emotions and characteristics of the story well.

Lahni has a pretty good life. She may be adopted, but her two white parents love her as much as if she were her own. However, her life starts getting a little bit more complicated when her mother and father start fighting more and more often, and soon breakup. Lahni is so angry at her father for leaving her and her mother. However, she is elected to be one of the talent contest singers and soon joins the church that her and her mother recently started attending's choir group. Will Lahni be able to sort out her family problems, and be able to compete in the contest?

"When the Black Girl Sings" was a pretty good book! It was different and original how Bil Wright incorporated singing and family problems into the story. It was realistic and seemed like problems that might really happen in someones life. I think it would have been nice if the story wouldn't have been quite as negative, but the ending was nice! I also wish that Marcus's character, the choir director, would have been a little bit more well developed. Overall, "When the Black Girl Sings" was a good read!

Monday, May 18, 2009

New Sidebar addition

Hi fellow bloggers!

I just wanted to let you know that to get to my contest to win a copy of "The Real Real" just click on the sidebar! So that will make it easier for you now that it has moved back a page!


YA Blog!

Check out this new YA book club forum!

If you join, please say that "WildBeachPonies" recruited you on this thread:

Thanks, and enjoy!

Friday, May 15, 2009

Win not only one book, but two!!

Strangely, only 3 people have entered my contest to win an Advanced reader copy of "The Real Real." So, I decided to add to it to get the word out about it and so that more people will want to enter! So, enter for you chance to win not only 1 book, but 2!!

Here is how it will work:

Once there are 50 people entered in my contest, I will add another book, it might be an ARC, or it could be a finished copy! However, it will for sure be a book that has/will be reviewed on my blog! So, its a surprise!

Please make sure to enter here for your chance to win an ARC of "The Real Real" AND a surprise book!! Remember though, the surprise book will only be added if we get 50 entrants, so spread the word!!


Babysitters Club and Sweet Valley High and Twilight

I found today's "I heart Daily" post pretty interesting. I have a whole bunch of "The Little Sister" books, and then "The Babysitters Club" books, and then, my Mom gave me her "Sweet Valley High" books to read. The babysitter and sweet valley high books are older books, but yet they were still so popular, that kids are still reading them! I like the "Sweet Valley High" books! How do you think that series like these relate to our current teen books? How are they different? Do you enjoy reading any of these series?

P.S. if you want to read any of "The Babysitters Club" books and don't have them, I have a whole bunch on my bookmooch account if you want to take a look! Bookmooch id: PoloPony and feel free to friend me!

"Blogs About Books: Re-reading The Classics
May 15, 2009

babysitters-club.jpgBefore the success of fashiony, rich kid books like Gossip Girl, The A-List, and The Clique, things were a bit more wholesome with popular series like The Baby-Sitters Club (I. Was. Obsessed.) and Sweet Valley High, that were about...well, baby-sitting and high school.

If you haven't the time to start reading all 131 BSC books (not including the Super Special, Mystery or Best Friends Forever series) or 181 SVH books (not including the Junior High, Senior Year or University series), we suggest taking a gander at these blogs dedicated to re-reading our favorites from a more grown-up, and hilarious, perspective.

Claudia's Room

Every meeting of the BSC happened in Claudia Kishi's room, which is why it’s such an appropriate title for this blog where the writer revisits her "awkward(est) years, one Baby-Sitters Club book at a time." Believe it or not, the BSC books were so goodie two shoes that the biggest dramas revolved around re-scheduling meetings, someone telling a lie or Stacey (the diabetic baby-sitter) forgetting to take her insulin. Blair Waldorf and Serena van der Woosen could have used friends like these.

The Dairi Burger
Take a set of identical twin girls, make one smart and the other flirty, and there is the basis for all Sweet Valley High books! It's quite absurd that hundreds of books were written about Elizabeth and Jessica Wakefield (in retrospect, they weren’t really that interesting) but they sure did build a mini-empire. The author of the Dairi Burger says: "My goal is to reread the entire series to relive my tween years, and also to get really angry at how SVH gave me a false and misguided view of high school life. And life in general. In fact, I blame all my insecurities, problems and worries on these books." Hysterical (and so very true). Damn you, Wakefields!

Twilight Guy
Last but not least, we have something you may be more familiar with: Twilight (you know, that book about the hot vampire). Twilight Guy is Kaleb, a 20-year-old college student who is reading the Stephenie Meyer saga and documenting his findings. He says: "I may be one of the first guys to read Twilight and actually admit it. But I'm only doing it as research and not because I'm curious. At least, that is my alibi." For a completely different perspective on the Twilight saga (as in, he won't be swooning over every little thing Edward does or says), this blog is worth checking out instead of reading New Moon for the umpteenth time.

love anne"

Thursday, May 14, 2009

Review: Better Latte Than Never

Book: "Better Latte than Never"
Author: Catherine Clark
Pages: 287
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Cute and sweet, good for the type of book that it is!

Peggy is stuck in boring, nothing new happening, town, Lindville for the Summer with no car, three siblings that she has to babysit, a job at Gas n' Git, and with her best friend down in summer camp, things are even worse. However, her life seems to start looking up a bit when she meets Charlotte who has a wild streak for sure. Her summer gets a little more adventurous with Charlotte around - as she is the result of a little golf cart incident and is the one motorcycling down the road during the parade with nothing more than a cowboy hat on (hmm, maybe cowboy boots to?). However, Peggy still wants something more. That something more is, Mike's best friend, Steve. However, it looks like her mission won't be quite as easy as she expected and maybe she will end up falling for someone entirley different.......

"Better Latte Than Never" was a cute novel! It was surprisingly clean for a romance, which I liked. Peggy is a likeable character, as well as Charlotte. There were some interesting, original, twists in the plot line that were fun as well. I found some of the characters a little annoying, such as Steve and at times, Peggy's parents. However, overall, "Better Latte Then Never" was a pretty good read and I am looking forward to reading more of Catherines works!

Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Hats of Love

Hats of Love

"Hats of Love" is a charity that two 4-H girls started to knit baby hats and donate them to hospitals. One of these girls is me. I have knit over a hundred baby hats, and we have donated them to hospitals with another donation soon to come. We have received knit newborn and preemie hats to donate, as well as yarn donations. Many girls in our 4-H club, as well as people outside of it, have helped out by donating hats and yarn.

If you would like to make a donation, please email me at:

For the next week, any purchases using the amazon links that I have provided or through my A-store, will be used for "Hats of Love" and will help bring a baby hat on at least one new baby's head because of you!

You can visit my "Hats of Love" blog here:

Thank you!

Waiting on Wednesday!

"Deadly Little Lies"

Release Date: November 24th, 2009

Blurb from Amazon:

"Last fall, sixteen-year-old Camelia fell for Ben, the mysterious new boy at school who turned out to have a very mysterious gift--pyschometry, the ability to sense the future through touch. But just as Camelia and Ben's romance began to heat up, he abruptly left town. Brokenhearted, Camelia has spent the last few months studying everything she can about psychometry, and experiencing her own strange brushes with premonition. Camelia wonders if Ben's abilities have somehow rubbed off on her. Can the power of psychometry be transferred?

Even once Ben returns to school, Camelia can't get close enough to share her secret with him. Despite the romantic tension between them, Ben remains aloof, avoiding contact. Then when an unexpected kiss leads to a frightening argument, Camelia makes the painful decision to let Ben go and move on. Adam, the hot new guy at work, seems good for her in ways Ben wasn't. Adam is easygoing, and seems to really care about her.
But when Camelia and Adam start dating, a surprising love triangle results. A chilling sequence of events upturns secrets from Ben's past--and Adam's. Someone is lying, and it's up to Camelia to figure out who-before it's too late."

This is the second in the "Touch" series, with the first being "Deadly Little Secrets!" I haven't read either yet, but don't they look good? I absolutely love this cover though, I think it is so neat!

Pre order here:

Thanks to Jill from "Breaking the Spine" for starting this meme!

Also, be sure to enter my contest to win a ARC of "The Real Real!" I can't believe only two people have entered so far! could be the third!!

Sunday, May 10, 2009

In My Mailbox!!

I got a surprisingly good amount of books this week! I won over half of them in contests, and the others are from publishers. Thanks so much to everyone who sent me these books! I also bought two books, "Distant Waves" and "The Spring of Candy Apples!" I bought them of of Amazon though, so I haven't gotten them yet!

Friday, May 8, 2009

Win "The Real Real" by Emma McLaughline and Nocola Kraus!!

Win an advanced copy of "The Real Real!!"

Do you want your chance to own an ARC of "The Real Real?" If so, here it is!

Here is a link to my review of "The Real Real" :

Now, remember how a while back I advised everyone to begin following my blog? This is the reason! This contest is only open to followers! Yes, you may START following now, during this contest, and that still counts.

How to Enter:

.Post a comment with your email address
.Become a follower!
.With your entry, say what book turned into a TV show that you would like to be cast in! I would like to be cast in the "Privilege" series by Kate Brian or "Heartland" by Lauren Brooke!

+3: Make a POST on your blog about this contest
+1: Comment on my review of "The Real Real"
+1: Add this contest to your sidebar
+2: Add my blog to your blogroll
+2: Follow my Being Nikki blog

Keep watch! I may be adding more extra entry options!!

Sorry guys, this contest is only open to U.S. residents though!


Thursday, May 7, 2009

Review: Stealing Heaven

Book: Stealing Heaven
Author: Elizabeth Scott
Pages: 336
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this cover, so fresh and pure, however, I'm not sure how well the solid block colors on the spine work with it. I think they might be a little to vibrant for the book. What do you think?

Danielle hasn't lived a different way for years, not since before her Mother met her Father. Stealing silver is just a way of life for her and her mother. They know all the tricks to not get caught, and even what to do if they do get caught. Even though Danielle has never gone to school, she figures that she has learned enough throughout her years. However, things start to change at there next destination - Heaven. Danielle starts making her first real friend with the Donaldson daughter. And even more, she's starting to really like someone, and he likes her back. The only problem is, he's a cop. When Danielle's mother decides to target the Donaldson's families stash of silver and Danielle is supposed to be the one to get it, she dosen't feel right about doing it. She would be betraying the only friend she ever had. And what would her new boyfriend think of her? Will Danielle be able to overcome the urge to follow her old life style, or will she break free and start what she feels is right?

"Stealing Heaven" was a nice read. I think that Elizabeth Scott is a great writer. The plot line in "Stealing Heaven" is so different and original, I love that! There are a few twists throughout the story. However, I think that the writing may have been a little "jerky" at times and even a tadge bit slow. Overall I thought "Stealing Heaven" was a pretty good read, though not my favorite of all time.

Tuesday, May 5, 2009

Review: Love, Cajun Style

Book: "Love, Cajun Style"
Author: Diane Les Becquets
Pages: 293
Rating: 4 out of 5
Cover Rating: 4 out of 5

This summer for Lucy is going to bring her many new changes. She's never had much experience with dating, but this summer, that's about to change. She finds herself getting mixed up with an older teacher, even though she knows its wrong. However, she will soon find out who her true love of the summer is. While she has tumbling romantic emotions going on with herself, she also starts worrying about her Mother and Father's relationship when she spots her Mom with a new guy more and more often. Will Lucy and her two best friends be able to work together and find the answers that they so desperately need?

"Love, Cajun Style" was a really enjoyable read! I loved the way Diane portrayed her characters and her writing style. I found myself really liking the three best friends. If your looking for a good, light, summery, romance read, you've found it! Overall, I just really enjoyed this book!

Monday, May 4, 2009

GG Discusion! Chapter 7!

Chapter 7 Discussion!

-What do you think of the book so far?
-In this chapter, a new boy, Josh, is introduced to the story. Cammie says that his smile is what really caught her interest. When you see someone, what do you notice first? There smile, like Cammie? Their laugh? Their eyes? Something different?
-Josh told Cammie that he'd see her around school, do you think that Cammie might have, for a moment, wished that she went to a normal school? Would you?
-This chapter was full of drama, Cammie went on her first mission and suceeded, ran 2 miles back to school, got drenched, and met Josh. Afterwords, she didn't feel so satisfied but more like, deserted. How would you feel if you were in Cammie's position?

Review: The Real Real

Book: "The Real Real"
Author: Emma Mclaughlin and Nocola Kraus
Pages: 312 (ARC)
Release Date: May 19th 2009
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Cover Rating: 3 out of 5 - Love the dress!!

Jesse O'Rourke lives in the Hampton's, where rich and beautiful people flock. However, she isn't so rich, maybe pretty, but not rich. However, that changes when XTV comes to her school looking for people to be cast in a documentary film and Jesse O'Rourke is one of the people that is picked. She isn't sure about accepting the job at first, but the huge 25,000 Doritos check attached, which would allow her to go to the college of her choice, makes her do it. This is the beginning of Jesse's own personal roaller coaster ride, her best friend gets angry at her, she has to work on the project way more than expected, and her relationship status keeps getting mixed up. Will Jesse O'Rourke be able to keep on with the contract? Or will she quit before the show is finished? And will she be able to sort through the real to find the real real?

I didn't especially enjoy "The Real Real." A lot of times it was really confusing and I found myself wondering, "wait, what happened?" The overall idea of the story was pretty neat and original, but the story itself wasn't as great as I expected it to be. The middle of the book definatley had some flaws, but the end picked up and was a lot more interesting. If I could split the story, I would probably rate the middle a 2 and the ending a 3 or 3.5. I thought the ending of the story was pretty interesting! While I don't suggest buying it, you might like to rent it from the library.